數位轉型前哨站!企業導入 AI 三個關鍵要素

數位轉型前哨站!企業導入 AI 三個關鍵要素

數位轉型浪潮襲來,企業各界也如火如荼展開導入 AI 的計畫,AI 關鍵字搜尋熱度五年來持續上升。根據台灣人工智慧學校去年10月的產業 AI 化現況調查,來自 516 家企業的填答者中,有 86% 相信自己的公司需要導入 AI,不過企業是否真的準備好了?本文整理了 CloudMile 提供超過 25 家客戶 AI 解決方案所累積的經驗,以協助產業順利應用人工智慧 、提升營運效能。

Google Trends AI 相關關鍵字,五年來的搜尋熱度變化

導入 AI 核心基礎:資料、資料、資料

招募 AI 人才看重的三項關鍵特質一文中,我們曾用咖啡豆譬喻開始機器學習前,最重要的原料──資料。沒有相關的數據資料,就無法萃取出香濃的咖啡,以電商產業的應用為例,顧客於各種購物管道與平台上的瀏覽與交易行為,從造訪網站的頻率、停留期間,到點擊下載等次數都是珍貴的數據資產。

而累積各式資料後,由於資料的正確性將大大影響機器學習最終的分析結果,需避免「Garbage in, garbage out.」的狀況產生,如果資料遺失、過時或不完整,將訓練出錯誤的模型,所以資料清理的環節相當關鍵。

電商零售業可能會遇到資料清理,例如常見的會員資料,有些生日採西元紀年,但有些採民國紀年,因此資料整理及清洗便是重新改寫少部分以民國紀年的數值,或重新搜集資料缺漏的欄位,以避免錯誤的資料影響預測模型,進而降低 AI 專案成效。

定義明確問題、與合適的團隊 /人才合作

企業若想導入 AI,內部需建立一整個 AI 團隊嗎?還是委外合作?這題的答案,因企業產品的核心價值及欲解決的目標問題而異。2019 企業 AI 領先度大調查數據指出,台灣金融業有高達 82% 採用跨部門組織合作,並透過外部資源或委外投入 AI 分析,原因一是經評估後,自建 AI 解決方案的成本過高,因此委外合作。二是過程涉及金融業領域的特殊情境,同時需要內部隱私數據訓練模型,所以選擇啟動客製化 AI 專案,開發專屬分析工具。

CloudMile 服務傳統紡織業為例在了解客戶過往採用舊有倉儲系統,並依賴人工辨識布料導致效率低落後,透過多次的需求諮詢,我們協助客戶定義出明確的需求──快速辨識與搜尋布料;接著利用機器學習訓練布料樣式的辨識模型,成功減短製程、加速生產效率。

管理階層需帶領團隊正確認知 AI 並 Start Small

企業經常對導入 AI 抱持「有立竿見影成效」的迷思;然而專案時程從初期的定義需求、資料探勘,中期如資料清洗與與模組開發,到最後的上線應用,往往需要至少半年的耕耘,同時更受限企業內部如資料不足,或 IT 基礎架構無法支援而延長。因此台灣人工智慧學校執行長陳昇瑋便建議,企業管理階層對 AI 解決方案需有正確認知,勿落入傳統的 ROI 考核框架,避免著眼於短期成效而錯失轉型的潛力。

Google 深度學習研究團隊聯合創始人吳恩達也表示,提供適當的 AI 訓練給公司內部不同層級的員工,有助推動企業轉型並培訓內部 AI 人才,並建議從小地方開始(Start Small)發展 AI。先讓重複性高、繁瑣的作業自動化與數位化,再進階至深入的 AI 應用。另一方面,Start Small 也意味組織小型團隊,制定明確的 AI 專案目標、時程及合理的預算,以便敏捷地審視投資成效。

AI 雲端雙引擎 助企業轉型一臂之力

「企業欲導入 AI 專案,從選擇與訂定專案目標、由誰制定以及如何制定都是左右專案能否順利發展的因素。隨著使用場景的即時性與資料量的增長速度,建制穩定可靠的資料工作流程 (Data Pipeline) ,才能長期支撐並推動機器學習模型的迭代與進化。因此選擇同時具備雲端架構與機器學習模型研發能力的專業夥伴是成功的第一步。」

– CloudMile 技術長 Jonathan Wang 

自 2017 年成立以來,CloudMile 萬里雲已為電商、媒體、金融與醫療等眾多產業、超過 25 家客戶提供客製化 AI 服務, 更是 Google Cloud 北亞第一家拿下 Google Cloud 機器學習認證(Machine Learning Specialization)、資料分析認證(Data Analytics Specialization)、雲端基礎架構認證(Infrastructure Specialization)等三項專業認證的核心策略合作夥伴,技術實力屢獲肯定。

去年(2019)成立子公司「 Ainotam」專攻行銷科技(MarTech),並推出關鍵字操作加速器「LOUPE」,致力為廣告行銷產業解決痛點,提升營運成效。CloudMile 專精 AI 領域,團隊來自台灣、香港及新加坡,想進一步了解人工智慧如何幫助產業洞察先機,歡迎隨時聯繫我們

About CloudMile

CloudMile 為亞洲領先的人工智慧服務與雲端供應商,並以實踐 AI 成為企業成長動能為己任。團隊利用機器學習及大數據分析,協助企業進行商業預測及產業升級。CloudMile 擁有超過70張專業技術認證,其中有超過40張 Google Cloud 專業認證,也是 Google Cloud 北亞地區第一家擁有機器學習、資料分析及基礎架構認證的核心策略合作夥伴。

Website: https://www.mile.cloud/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CloudMileFans/
Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/company/cloudmile/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/CloudMile
Contact Us: [email protected]

The 3 Key Factors to Adopt AI

The 3 Key Factors to Adopt AI

The wave of digital transformation is on the horizon. Businesses from all realms are all fired up and ready to begin their plans for the implementation of AI technology.  The term “AI” has been one of the top searches on the Internet in the past few years and continues to grow. Let’s look at a survey conducted by AI Academy Taiwan from last October, about the current state of AI application in businesses. The faculty analyzed answers from 516 businesses and found that 86% of the businesses believe that their company needs the implementation of AI technology. However, is the world ready for this? In this article, we are sharing CloudMile’s past experiences in helping more than 25 businesses implementing AI technology in their operation and boosting their performance.

The Foundation of AI Implementation: Data, Data, and Data

In the “The Secret of CloudMile! 3 Essential Traits Companies Look For in AI Specialists Recruitment article, we have used coffee beans as an analogy for data. It represents the most important material you need before proceeding to machine learning. Without data, you will not be able to make  an aromatic cup of coffee. Take the application of E-commerce for example, all actions taken by customers on websites like browsing and dealing from various platforms, from visit frequency to visit duration, and to clicks as well as downloads, these are all precious data assets. 

After the accumulation of all types of data, it is very important to keep one thing in mind. The accuracy of your data can strongly affect the final results of machine learning. The situation of “Garbage in, garbage out” must always be avoided. With data loss, incomplete data and outdated data, you will develop a faulty data model. That’s why data cleansing is key to machine learning.

To understand what the so called data cleansing means, the best way is to look at the following example. For instance the membership information on E-commerce websites, some sites collect members’ birthday info in the common era calendar format and others use the Taiwanese civil calendar. For this reason, when going through data cleansing and organization, we would usually rewrite the values that used Taiwanese civil calendar or recollect the missing data column. This is to help avoid developing a faulty prediction model due to inaccuracies in data and further increase the effectiveness of an AI project. 

Define Problems Definitively and Work With the Right Teams and Talents

Do companies need a professional AI team for AI implementation in their businesses? Or should they consider outsourcing? This answer may vary depending on the core value of your products, the target issues you wish to solve, and the goals you wish to achieve. A 2019 survey regarding AI leading indicators in business stated that more than 86% of the financial industry in Taiwan applies the method of cross-department team working. They would also reach out for external resources or outsource their AI analysis projects. One of the reasons behind this is that after evaluation, the cost of developing an AI resolution project is often too high, which leads to the outsourcing trend from the companies. The second reason for outsourcing is that the process involves context specific development of the financial sector and internal private data training model. Thus, it would be more efficient to opt for a customized AI project and further develop an exclusive analysis tool. 

Let us take a look at the past examples of CouldMile’s services for the Textile Manufacturers industry; We learned that our customer have adopted the old Warehouse Management System in the past. Also, they used to rely on visual inspection on their fabric, which led to the drop of their efficiency. After many consulting sessions, we guided our customers to define clear specifications: Speed detection and a quicker search for materials. We then trained a fabric detection model with machine learning technology. This sufficiently reduced the manufacturing process and boosted the production efficiency. 

The Management Level Should Guide Their Team to Better Understand AI and Start Small

A common myth for businesses is their impractical expectations towards AI technology, they all expect to see immediate results. However, there are many points to consider when kicking off a project. From defining the specifications and data mining in the initial stage to data cleansing and model developing in the mid stage, and eventually to the releasing stage. This process often requires at least six months of effort. Other reasons why the process may take longer, are the lack of interior data from business or when their IT infrastructure failed to support. Thus, AI Academy Taiwan CEO Sheng Wei Chen  suggests, the management level from businesses should gain a correct perception towards AI solutions. Do not fall into the old concept of the traditional ROI system, think outside the box. Keep your eyes on the prize, seize the chance to successfully transform your business.

Google Deep Learning Research Team co-founder Wu En Da indicates that, providing all level of employees with proper AI training can greatly help a business transform, and further train AI talents from within. He then pitch out the idea of “Start Small” with the development AI technology. First, apply atomization and digitization in repetitive and tedious operation. Then advance to the application of AI technology. On the other hand, starting small also means to build smaller teams. Nail down clear and definite goals, milestones and a reasonable budget to wisely examine the investment outcome. 

CloudMile – A Helping Hand for Digital Transformation in Businesses

From appointing and laying down project goals, to electing a leader, and methodology, according to CloudMile CTO, Jonathan Wang, the points stated above are all factors that might affect the developments to an AI project. With the ever changing of immediacy and the speedy growth of data in different usage scenarios, a stable data pipeline is required to ensure and support long term optimization progress for machine learning model. To conclude, choosing a professional partner with cloud computing and machine learning model developing skills is a leap to success.

Since the founding of CloudMile in 2017, the company has provided its more than 25 customers from the E-commerce, Media, Financial and Medical industry with customized AI technology services.  CloudMile proudly shares its success with the world as it is the first business strategic alliance in North Asia to attain a Machine Learning Specialization, a Data Analytics Specialization, a Infrastructure Specialization, and others to count.  There’s is no doubt that CloudMile is one of the best partners in the field with the best skills.

In 2019, Martech company Ainotam was established by CloudMile. Furthermore, a keywords operating accelerator LOUPE was also released. It is set out to solve the daily problems that the Marketing and Advertising industry face, and most importantly to improve your operation performance. With its team from Taiwan, Hong Kong and Singapore, CloudMile specializes in AI technology. If you wish to further learn how AI technology can help your business see through the future signs, feel free to contact us!

About CloudMile

CloudMile, a leading cloud service provider and AI company in Asia, focuses on implementing AI for its corporate clients and drive growth. Leveraging ML and big data analysis, CloudMile assists corporates with business forecast and industrial upgrades. CloudMile has earned 70+ accreditations, with 40+ Google Cloud Certificates. Being the Premier Partner of Google Cloud, CloudMile is also the 1st partner that acquired Infrastructure Specialization and Machine Learning Specialization in North Asia.

Website: https://www.mile.cloud/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CloudMileFans/
Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/company/cloudmile/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/CloudMile
Contact Us: [email protected]